Fat Finally in a Worthwhile Study

Ah, Friday. How sweet thou art. I will admit, this week has been absolutely grueling, and I won’t lie: I love my job, my responsibilities, my co-workers. But this is one weekend I’m looking forward to very much. Seeing my brother (haven’t seen him in like 3 months), helping a friend move, and I have an awesome romantic-ish date with the girlfriend. All in all, A+.

But, to the topic at hand. Fat. Fat is a macronutrient that was used as a scapegoat to further the sinister ambitions of large companies who, while they tell you their low-fat products are healthier, snicker in the background as poorly-informed people get in line to buy products they believe are healthier but have no scientific evidence to substantiate them.

So, poor, poor fat. Ostricized, left all alone except for Europe, where surely there must be much more heart disease because that’s what we were told?! Nope. Nada. Zip. Goose egg. France has one of the lowest rates of heart disease in the world, so low in fact it has been dubbed “le French phenomenon”. But wait, if they eat lots of fat, and don’t have lots of heart disease…

That leaves the question of why in America, home of the free and land of the low-fat diets, there’s ever-increasing numbers of heart attacks. Hmmm. Coincidence? Ha. Fat chance… ok, sorry, that was terrible. Anywho, the question now is, does eating fat make you sick and overweight?

Well, I’m gonna endorse another dude (and by endorse I mean share a link) who knows his stuff. Enter Mr. Ben Greenfield, world-renowned person trainer, holistic expert, and all around guru. Here’s the link btw: http://www.bengreenfieldfitness.com/2014/05/how-much-fat-can-you-burn-2/

Now, his focus is mainly on athletics, and while I did make heart disease my main topic of discussion, I think that after reading this you’ll understand why I did. If someone as ridiculously healthy as he is eats a diet comprised of 60% or more fat, logically, you simply cannot reason that eating fat can cause heart disease. He lists several links in his article that go to other articles, and if you’re a health nerd like I am, you’ll enjoy spending hours and hours and hours just reading.

I’ll throw this in: if you or anyone you know closely has had heart disease, I am very sorry for you. I would never make fun of the seriousness of the condition. What I will say is that, if you follow a low-fat diet, and you’ve STILL had heart disease, maybe its time to widen your gaze and see what else is out there. Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

