Starting a Health Career

To some, the idea of being a health researcher may seem like one of “those” terms. The one where, when you hear someone say they’re one, you smile, nod your head, and say, “Cool!”. But what does this term truly mean? And for added context in my case, I do work for a Christian Healthshare ministry. Medical Symbol

For the most part, being a health researcher is not an overly glamorous or sometimes particularly exciting job. It means hard, long days of wading through oceans of medical information. With the territory comes writing, something I especially enjoy. While I’m new to the job, albeit not the field, I enjoy the feeling of accomplishment that comes with the mentally grueling work.

Now this is when the Christian side comes in. From my beliefs, I believe that people need to take care of their bodies. From 1 Corinthians 3: 16-17 “Do you not know that you are a temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you? If any man destroys the temple of God, God will destroy him, for the temple of God is holy, and that is what you are.”

Now, most people can, at the least, agree that its important to take care of your body. After all, its what you use to get out of bed, brush your teeth, hug your kids, and other daily activities. But from a Christian perspective, its especially important to do so because God gave me my body as a gift, as His holy temple. And the aforementioned verses provide a deeper sense of motivation to take care of my body.

So, with that context in mind, because of my research I’m biased to holistic nutrition. My research is mostly aimed to that end. While many of the books I read are not authored by Christian doctors or nutritionists, their views align with mine, and they provide very good sources and reasoning that, in logic, theory, and practice, support their claims.

To conclude, being a health researcher is a job that people must be both patient and ambitious in order to do well in. It doesn’t include much legwork, but plenty of mental energy and a good attention span are required. So, next time someone tells you “I’m a health researcher!” you can say “Hey! That’s really cool!”, and have the priviledge of knowing what they grow through to provide solid information to the public.

Leave a Reply

